Patience, My Young Padawan…

Not having a car right now means I end up taking the bus a lot of places.

Buses are nice and all, but they don’t always like to come on time.

So as I was standing on a street corner downtown this morning wondering why my bus was 3 minutes late–yeah, I know. Just 3. When you have to wait 20 minutes for your transfer, 3 extra minutes feels like a much bigger deal than it should–I realized something.

image
(Cheesecake I made. This is the only photo of fruit on my phone.)

Patience is one of the fruits of the spirit. And it’s one I rarely think about. It’s really easy to ignore.

Right now, I am being given a regular, recurring opportunity to develop the fruit of patience.

Would I rather have a car? Of course. But this is a very practical chance for growth. And it’s being dropped in my lap, with no effort for self-improvement even initiated on my part.

It’s so easy to get caught up in feeling sorry for ourselves. How often do we miss the cool things God is doing because we’re too focused on ourselves to notice?

Fruits of the spirit. Maybe they’re not so elusive and hard to cultivate as they seem.

Leave a Reply

